“Upright”

No matter how hard,
slowly, surely, bit by bit
I’ll help you stand up


06/03/2017 11:55 am || 07/21/2017 7:55 pm

Title from Micah Alyana Tagle.

Photo taken from Google Images.


Honestly, thoughts about my course is what went through my mind when I received this word.  Well, I expect nothing less by asking one of my most studious friends (I’d put “one of the smartest” but she’ll probably get mad at me so no way. Oh well.)

And so, I am using this post to let you guys know about my course which is Bachelor of Science in Physical Therapy!

And no, we aren’t massage therapists. Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with being massage therapists, I just wanted to clear up one of the most famous misconceptions about the course.

So how about we define things first?

According to the World Confederation of Physical Therapists or WCPT (2017), “physical therapy is services provided by physical therapists to individuals and populations to develop, maintain and restore maximum movement and functional ability throughout the lifespan”.

Screenshot (218)
Scene from Boku Dake ga Inai Machi.

Adding to that definition, “physical therapists (PTs) are highly-educated, licensed health care professionals who can help patients reduce pain and improve or restore mobility – in many cases without expensive surgery and often reducing the need for long-term use of prescription medications and their side effects (American Physical Therapy Association (APTA), 2015)”.

With that cleared out, I’ll tell you the story behind that infamous misconception. The link that connects physical therapists and massage therapists is massage.

 

True enough, PT’s do utilize massage in their treatments. After all, massage is useful in alleviating pain, relaxing the muscles and relieving muscle tension. But massage is only one of the many techniques that PT’s use in their treatments. They are not limited to using just this method. As licensed health professionals in their field, they are able to use other modalities and means in order to achieve the goals of patient, the session, and the treatment such as range of motion (ROM) exercises, TENSE and ultrasound machines, hot and cold packs, and much more.

And they not only deal with injured patients. They also handle athletes, where they help them in developing their strength, endurance and other components of fitness in order to help them in their sports and competitions, and of course, they’re also their when they get injured.

We also work in gyms such as providing fitness plans that are individualized according to the clients, their goals, schedule and materials available. We also serve as promoters and advocates of health and wellness.

Upright.PNG
Scene from Shigatsuwa Kimi no Uso.

PT’s work in other different fields such as in research, the academe, military, hospice, community based rehabilitation and many more.

So does that cleared up stuff for you? I hope it did. As a student of BS Physical Therapy, I take it upon myself to spread word about my profession and make other people understand what it is we do. After all, we spend five years studying, training and learning for this career, we don’t want to get underestimated and falsely recognized.

I hope to be able to become a competent PT someday. I still got two more years to go before I graduate and I plan on making the most out of it for the sake of my future patients and clients, and, if fate would allow it, my future students as well. I am not 100% sure yet but, so far, I want to become a teacher and facilitate and guide future PT’s in their journey to becoming a PT.

I am happy to be able to write a post about my profession. Maybe I’ll write more some other time. 😉

That’s it for now! Let’s do this!

See you next time! 🙂

2 thoughts on ““Upright”

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

