“Serenity”

Drops causing ripples
with leaves rustling in the wind
Comfort in silence


06/04/2017 5:50 pm || 07/15/2017 9:59 pm

Title from Samira Valenzuela.

Photo taken from Google Images.


This haiku makes me think about my alone time. Though sunlight streaming from windows and soft pillows and comfort at home may be better to describe it. Haha.

Ever had those moments where you just lie down and just chill? When school is out and you finally finished all your chores and finally get to just lie around and do what you want.

You know what? In this fast paced world of ours, I find it a luxury to be able to sit around and do nothing, just contemplating life and reflecting. People are always doing something, you get me? Checking their phones, scrolling through feeds, earning money, running errands, chasing sleep, and all that. Well, some of this we really have to do, while others are things we just got used to doing and I am not saying it’s bad. It’s just not sometimes, we just miss the small stuff and we don’t really get to absorb what is actually happening around us.

Serenty1.jpg

Once in a while, watching the clouds float by or staring at the stars at night can be of help. For me, helps me take my mind of things, helps me reflect, and sometimes, make me realize stuff about myself too. Sometimes, I just realize that I had just reflected after I have done so and then I laugh at myself, thinking how I just managed to get something out that quiet time, whether it be a realization about the workings of the universe, a short respite from getting attacked by the forces of life, or questions that will keep my mind working.

Though, let’s not forget that the things we set aside for a while as we enter this serene time will still be there when we get back and we will have to face it sooner or later. But I know that when we do get back from our break, we are better armed in facing the problems we have because I am sure we’ll gain something even from that short time in serenity. Whether we get a heart that has discovered something, a spirit that has calmed down, a mind that has realized something, or a body that has gained energy through rest, it’s something we can take with us a use in battling the rapids of life.

2 thoughts on ““Serenity”

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

