“Rice”

Beads of sweat ease down
Each grain as precious as pearls
Fills our heart’s content


06/04/2017 11:57 am || 06/05/2017 3:14 pm

Title from Kim Marie Anne Taroy.

Photo taken from Google Images.


wp-image--1063084965

…and that, my friends, is how the word “rice” came about. The English translation of this post is at the end! 🙂

Hahaha. I had good laugh with this one. After receiving the words “Bequeath” and  “Isolation” from those I previously asked, I was ready for any hard-to-spell and deep-sounding words, thus when Kim (or Kimmy as I call her) said “Rice”, I was thrown out of balance.

After my initial, “totoo ba?” (“for real?”) reaction, I realized that, yeah, why not? Why not make a haiku inspired by rice? It’s a staple in a lot of countries including ours. Breakfast? Rice. Lunch? Rice! Dinner? Still rice! Rice! Rice!

Rice3.jpg

Ok, I know I am generalizing but I think you get the point.

And with my interest in rice perked up, I researched a little and found this info-graphic on how rice is grown:

Rice4.png
Source: calrice.org

It’s from California so the timeline’s a little off. In the Philippines, planting season is usually from June-July while harvest season is from September through November during the first season.

Ok! Enough with the technical stuff! Hahaha. Sorry about that, but isn’t nice to know more about the things around us sometimes? Like how grass grows! Oh wait, rice is a type of grass. HAHAHA. Ok, ok, I am done. 😀 Peace. ^_^

And that’s it for today, folks! Hope you enjoyed (and learned from) this latest post!

See you next time!

All rice! 😉

Rice2

P.S. I really enjoyed making this post. Haha 🙂


So here’s th English translation of my conversation with Kim.

[Start]

R: Kimmyyyy
Give a word! Hehehehe
It shouldn’t start with
A, B, H, I, K, M ,P, S, T, U, V, X
K: Rice XD what hahaha
R: For real?
HAHAHA
It’s ok hahaha
K: Okieee HAHAHA
R: I’ll turn it into a haiku
I’ll put your name

[End]

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

