My Pink Parasol

Once in a while, I would sit and ponder,
If it is a curse or blessing that I am under,
Due to my pink parasol

On days when it is truly hot, I see them sweat under the sun,
Plowing the soil seemed to me so hard and not fun,
This I think while I stay under the shade of my pink parasol

But how strange! I thought because of this, they would tire
But as I watch on, they laugh and smile with their souls burning with a fire
As I stay under the shade of my pink parasol

On days where the clouds are weeping, I see them trying
As they try to keep their houses from breaking,
This I see while keeping dry under my pink parasol

But how weird! I expected them to weep together with the skies,
But as I watch them battle the rain, they push and pull with life in their eyes
As I stay dry under my pink parasol

On days when the gusts of the wind are strong, I see them holding their straw hats on,
As they continue to reap the fruits of their labors with their sons,
This is what I observed under my pink parasol

But how odd! I believed they have already suffered so much from nature’s blows
But as I watch them load the goods, they still look ready to fight and take on whatever life would throw
As I stay uncomprehending under my pink parasol

Once in a while, I would sit and ponder,
Think and contemplate and wonder
Under my trap which is my pink parasol

And my biggest mystery is what would happen,
If I take the courage and free myself from this judging den,
And share with them my pink parasol


06/21/16 12:05 pm || 06/21/16 12:31 pm

Artwork by Sabrina Anne Ricarte

2 thoughts on “My Pink Parasol

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

